NSW Blues head coach Michael Maguire has named his 20-man squad to face the Maroons in Game I of the 2024 State of Origin series at Accor Stadium on June 5th.

In his first series since taking over from Brad Fittler, Maguire has made the call to blood a half-dozen fresh faces and call up a new skipper.

Sea Eagles veteran Jake Trbojevic takes over from James Tedesco who has assumed the captaincy since Game II, 2020 and is one of just seven Blues to captain the state on double-digit occasions.

Dylan Edwards, Joseph-Aukuso Sua’ali’i, Zac Lomax, Cameron McInnes, Haumole Olakau’atu and Spencer Leniu are all set for their first taste of Origin.

Edwards, who made his Kangaroos debut at the end of last year, wins the race for the No.1 jersey with Tedesco’s streak of 22 consecutive Origin appearances set to come to an end.

Sua’ali’i lines up alongside Bulldogs star Stephen Crichton in the centres with Lomax partnering Brian To’o on the wing.

Nicho Hynes, who failed to finish the Sharks’ last-start loss to the Panthers due to a lingering calf issue, has been named to partner Jarome Luai in the halves.

Luke Keary and Matt Burton are both listed among the reserves as cover for Hynes should he fail to overcome his injury complaint.

Reece Robson edges Apisai Koroisau for the starting hooker role with McInnes named to start at lock and Trbojevic, Payne Haas, Liam Martin and Angus Crichton rounding out the rest of the pack.

Olakau’atu and Leniu join Isaah Yeo and Hudson Young on the interchange with Mitch Barnett named among the reserves for his first Origin camp.


1. Dylan Edwards (Penrith Panthers)
2. Brian To’o (Penrith Panthers)
3. Stephen Crichton (Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs)
4. Joseph Sua’ali’i (Sydney Roosters)
5. Zac Lomax (St George Illawarra Dragons)
6. Jarome Luai (Penrith Panthers)
7. Nicholas Hynes (Cronulla-Sutherland Sharks)
8. Jake Trbojevic (c) (Manly Warringah Sea Eagles)
9. Reece Robson (North Queensland Cowboys)
10. Payne Haas (Brisbane Broncos)
11. Liam Martin (Penrith Panthers)
12. Angus Crichton (Sydney Roosters)
13. Cameron McInnes (Cronulla-Sutherland Sharks)
14. Isaah Yeo (Penrith Panthers)
15. Haumole Olakau’atu (Manly Warringah Sea Eagles)
16. Spencer Leniu (Sydney Roosters)
17. Hudson Young (Canberra Raiders)
18. Matt Burton (Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs)
19. Luke Keary (Sydney Roosters)
20. Mitchell Barnett (Warriors)

Fill In The Form To Get Our NRL News Straight To Your Email For FREE!

The post State of Origin: Six debutants included as Maguire names revamped Blues squad first appeared on The Sporting Base.

The post State of Origin: Six debutants included as Maguire names revamped Blues squad appeared first on The Sporting Base.