Michael Maguire has made five changes to the side that went down to Queensland in Origin I in a bid to keep the series alive in the Victorian capital.

Debutants Dylan Edwards and Connor Watson have been rushed into the side along with Latrell Mitchell, Cameron Murray, and Mitchell Moses.

Edwards will wear the No.1 jersey after being a late scratching in Origin I due to a quad complaint with his replacement James Tedesco the man to make way.

Mitchell comes into the centres for the suspended Joseph-Aukuso Sua’ali’i whilst Moses earns the halfback jersey over Nicho Hynes, Murray replaces Game I debutant Cameron McInnes at lock, and Watson out-jostles Hudson Young for an interchange spot.

Mitchell earns a Blues recall for the first time since 2021 – the last series in which NSW came out victorious.

The Taree Red Rovers junior scored four tries and assisted in two others in NSW’s record-breaking 2021 series win.

Moses and Murray were both a part of NSW’s winning side in Game III last year but were unavailable for Game I this year due to injury concerns.

Maguire has wasted no time rushing the pair back into the run-on side at the expense of Sharks duo Hynes and McInnes.

Matt Burton – Game I’s replacement player – has also somewhat strangely been omitted from the 20-man squad.

The Blues will face the Maroons in Game II of the 2024 State of Origin series at the Melbourne Cricket Ground next Wednesday night.


1. Dylan Edwards (Penrith Panthers)
2. Brian To’o (Penrith Panthers)
3. Stephen Crichton (Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs)
4. Latrell Mitchell (South Sydney Rabbitohs)
5. Zac Lomax (St George Illawarra Dragons)
6. Jarome Luai (Penrith Panthers)
7. Mitchell Moses (Parramatta Eels)
8. Jake Trbojevic (c) (Manly Warringah Sea Eagles)
9. Reece Robson (North Queensland Cowboys)
10. Payne Haas (Brisbane Broncos)
11. Liam Martin (Penrith Panthers)
12. Angus Crichton (Sydney Roosters)
13. Cameron Murray (South Sydney Rabbitohs)
14. Connor Watson (Sydney Roosters)
15. Isaah Yeo (Penrith Panthers)
16. Haumole Olakau’atu (Manly Warringah Sea Eagles)
17. Spencer Leniu (Sydney Roosters)
18. Mitchell Barnett (Warriors)
19. Cameron McInnes (Cronulla-Sutherland Sharks)
20. Luke Keary (Sydney Roosters)

Fill In The Form To Get Our NRL News Straight To Your Email For FREE!

The post State of Origin: Five changes made as NSW look to keep series alive first appeared on The Sporting Base.

The post State of Origin: Five changes made as NSW look to keep series alive appeared first on The Sporting Base.